Minutes of the 11th School Board Meeting of the School of Journalism & New Media Studies held on April 25, 2014 at 11.00 am in the Discussion Room, Convention Centre, IGNOU Campus, Maidan Garhi, New Delhi.

The following members were present:

1.	Dr. Kiron Bansal, Director, SOJNMS	Chairperson
2.	Prof. Iftekhar Ahmed, Head, Centre of Mass Communication, CUB, Patna	Member
3.	Prof. G. Ravindran, University of Madras, Chennai	Member
4.	Prof. S.R. Jha, Professor, SOS	Member
5.	Dr. S.K.Vyas, Associate Prof. SOET, IGNOU	Member
6.	Prof. S.N.Singh, Professor, SOJNMS	Member
7.	Dr. K.S. Arul Selvan, Associate Professor, SOJNMS	Member
8.	Dr. O.P.Dewal, Associate Professor, SOJNMS	Member
9.	Dr. Shikha Rai, Assistant Professor, SOJNMS	Member
10.	Dr. Ramesh Yadav, Assistant Professor, SOJNMS	Member
11.	Dr. Usha Chander, Research Officer, SOJNMS	Special Invitee
	and a second second second and second second second may be	

Prof. Ram Sharan Joshi, Prof. Kiran Thakur, Mr. Ashok Ogra, and Shri Anand Gupta could not attend the meeting due to their preoccupation while Shri Amit Kumar, Assistant Professor, SOJNMS was on leave.

The Chairperson welcomed all the members and extended her good wishes and congratulations to Prof. Iftekhar Ahmed, Prof. S.R. Jha, Prof. Santosh Panda and Dr. Anand Gupta for their various achievements and honours. Then the agenda items were taken up for discussion and the following decisions made:

11.01 Confirmation of the Minutes of the 10th School Board Meeting held on November 25 2013

The minutes of the 10th School Board Meeting held on November 25, 2013 were taken up and since no comments were received from the members, the same were confirmed.

11.02 Action Taken Report (ATR) on the 10th Meeting of the School Board

The Action Taken on the agenda items of the 10th School Board meeting were reported by the Chairperson to the School Board and were approved.

11.03 Approval of the Minutes of the Doctoral Committee Meeting held on March 25, 2014

The minutes of the Doctoral Committee meeting held on March 25, 2014 were presented to the School Board. While presenting Item No. 3, the names of examiners for Mr. Deepak Gupta were read out by the Director from the sealed envelope and one more

Dr. Kiron Bansal निवे .न.ज.अ.वि.) इग्नू Director (SOJNMS) IGNOU name was added to the list by the Board. The Chairperson informed that after the Doctoral Committee meeting, a request was received from PhD scholar Moina Khan for her pre-submission seminar. To help the scholar, the names of examiners proposed by the supervisor were placed for the approval of the Doctoral Committee through circulation. Out of three names suggested by the Doctoral Committee members, one name was added to the list of examiners for Moina Khan by the Board.

10'

The Minutes of the Doctoral Committee and the list of examiners for both the scholars were considered and recommended by the Board for approval (lists of examiners enclosed in confidential envelopes 1 & 2).

11.04 To consider and approve the Needs Assessment Study Report of Appreciation Programme in Media Literacy

The Needs Assessment Study Report of Appreciation Programme in Media Literacy was presented by the Programme Coordinator. After a detailed discussion on the findings, the report was accepted and the Board recommended that an exploratory meeting comprising national level experts from academia, industry and the NGO sector may be conducted by the Programme Coordinator to finalise the scope, nature, content and target group of the programme.

11.05 • To consider and approve the Needs Assessment Study Report of Bachelor of Arts in Journalism & Mass Communication programme

The Needs Assessment Study Report of Bachelor of Arts in Journalism & Mass Communication (BA-JMC) programme was presented by the Research Officer and was approved. The Board observed that BA-JMC is an important programme of the School and work should be expedited by the Programme team.

11.06 To consider and approve the Phase 1 Form of MPhil programme in Communication Studies

Phase 1 Form of MPhil in Communication Studies was presented by the Programme Proposer and after detailed discussions, the Board recommended that an exploratory expert committee meeting may be conducted to finalise the academic details of the programme.

11.07 To consider and approve the Names of External Members of the School Board

The names proposed by the SOJNMS faculty for External members of the School Board were presented. The names of Prof. Mangal D. Negi, Prof. FTII (Television) and Mr. Sunil Abraham (New Media), Executive Director, Centre for Internet and Society, Bangalore were suggested during the meeting and five external members were co-opted for the next School Board (Enclosure 1).

Rame

डॉ. किरण बंसल Dr. Kiron Bansal निवेशक (प.न.ज.अ.वि.) इग्नू Director (SOJNMS) IGNOU

11.08 To consider and approve the names of evaluators for PGJMC programme received from SED

The names of evaluators for PGJMC programme received from SED were presented and since they did not meet the eligibility criteria proposed for evaluators; were not recommended for approval. It was informed that the School faculty has the freedom to reject those names which do not meet the stipulated eligibility criteria for evaluators and there is no need to bring such cases to the School Board.

11.09 To consider and approve the names of Evaluators Paper Setters and Moderators for PGDAPP & CCR programmes

The names of Evaluators Paper Setters and Moderators for PGDAPP and CCR programmes were presented and recommended for approval.

11.10 To consider and approve the additional names of Evaluators, Paper Setters and Moderators for BA-AVFX.

The additional names of Evaluators, Paper Setters and Moderators for BA-AVFX programmes were presented and recommended for approval.

11.11 To consider and approve the CEMCA proposal of Cash Award for Best Female PGJMC Student

The School Board was informed that CEMCA proposal of Cash Award for Best Female PGJMC Student approved by them through circulation was put up as an agenda item for the Academic Council. It was suggested by the Vice Chancellor that instead of best female student, the award may be given to best female tribal student or from similar categories. This was communicated to CEMCA and their response is awaited.

Approval of the Minutes of the Doctoral Committee Meeting held on March 25,

The Meeting ended with a vote of thanks to all the members.

(Kiron Bansal) 1/5/14 Director, SOINMS SI. मिरेपी बर्सल Dr. Kiron Bansel निदेशक (प.न.ज.ज.ति.) इन्द्र Director (SOJNMS) IGNOU